My Favorite Song

Day 1 of the 30-day music challenge

Ugh how come the first challenge is already this hard? I have so many songs that I love and each serves best depending on my mood (hah!).

Video – India Arie

And I know my creator didn’t make no mistakes on me
My feet, my thighs, my Lips, my eyes, I’m loving what I see

My momma said a lady ain’t what she wears but what she knows…

This song empowers me. It helped me (and still does) when I was going through my college years. I love this song so much I even quote it in my bachelor thesis 🙂

Lucky – Jason Mraz & Colbie Caillat

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend

That particular line alone sums it up best. I am indeed lucky to be in love with my best fried. Some of you may know it already, The Mister and I have known each other since kindergarten and have been friends since primary school. When we got married, we decided to use this song as we entered the wedding reception hall.

Nobody Does It Better – Carly Simon

I wasn’t lookin’ but somehow you found me
It tried to hide from your love light

Whenever you hold me
There’s some kind of magic inside you
That keeps me from runnin’
But just keep it comin’
How’d you learn to do the things you do?

Something I listen to when I am feeling so absolutely, shamelessly, in love with The Mister. <cue barfing sound here> And isn’t Carly Simon one of the best female vocalists/songwriters of all time?

Fix You – Coldplay

When you try your best, but you don’t succeed
When you get what you want, but not what you need

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

I find this song not only lyrically but also musically beautiful. The way the sound of a new instrument is heard as the song progresses just adds to the dramatic building of the song.

-ciciA

Leave a Reply

